Thursday, February 23, 2023

The Chase Park Plaza Royal Sonesta
Cocktails and Tasting in the Lindell Room
Seated Dinner in the Khorassan Ballroom
St. Louis, Missouri
6-9 pm

Calling all cookies connoisseurs!

For the past 12 years, Dessert First has challenged prominent St. Louis chefs to flex their baking skills and deliver one-of-a-kind Girl Scout Cookie-inspired creations. During the cocktail hour, guests are asked to vote for their favorite desserts. Later, at the formal seated diner, attendees celebrate the extraordinary achievements and contributions of three Legacy Builders and three amazing Girl Scouts!

All proceeds support our leadership development programs for girls.

If you would like to extend your night out, please use the Dessert First room block to book a discounted room at the Chase.

Dessert First honors one Corporate/Foundation Legacy Builder, one Individual Legacy Builder and one Community Legacy Builder. The honorees are chosen because of the enormous support and service they have provided to Girl Scouts of Eastern Missouri.

2023 Legacy Builders

  • 2023 Corporate/Foundation Legacy Builder: William T. Kemper Foundation
  • 2023 Individual Legacy Builder: Jo Ann Taylor Kindle
  • 2023 Community Legacy Builder: FIRST in Missouri

Past Legacy Builders

  • PNC, 2022 Honoree
  • Cynthia Heath, 2022 Honoree
  • The St. Louis Zoo, 2022 Honoree
  • Boeing and the Employees Community Fund of Boeing, 2021 Honoree
  • Megan and Tim Piechowski, 2021 Honoree
  • The Magic House, 2021 Honoree
  • Myrtle and Earl Walker, 2020 Honoree
  • Edward Jones, 2020 Honoree
  • Camp Fury STL, 2020 Honoree
  • Ann and Doug Teske, 2019 Honoree
  • Wells Fargo, 2019 Honoree
  • Operation Food Search, 2019 Honoree
  • Berges Family Foundation, 2018 Honoree
  • Centene Charitable Foundation, 2018 Honoree
  • Donald Danforth Plant Science Center, 2018 Honoree
  • Mary Ann Altergott, 2017 Honoree
  • Express Scripts, 2017 Honoree
  • Commerce Bank, 2016 Honoree
  • Maurita Stueck, 2016 Honoree
  • Crawford Taylor Foundation, 2015 Honoree
  • Elsie St. Cyr, 2015 Honoree
  • Ameren Missouri, 2014 Honoree
  • Laurna C. Godwin, 2014 Honoree
  • Monsanto, 2013 Honoree
  • Marilyn Fox, 2013 Honoree
  • Carolyn Losos, 2012 Honoree
  • Emerson, 2012 Honoree

At this special event, we celebrate the leadership and service of outstanding Girl Scouts and award two scholarships of $5,000 to be used for higher education.  Scholarship recipients must have earned their Gold Award, the highest recognition available to Girl Scouts.

Past Scholarship Recipients:

  • Anushka Rawat, Parkway South High School, 2022 Recipient
  • Nichole Hofmann, Troy Buchanan High School, 2022 Recipient
  • Zoey Knight, Kirkwood High School, 2021 Recipient
  • Shruti Panda, Parkway West High School, 2021 Recipient
  • Alexis Edgar, Francis Howell High School, 2020 Recipient
  • Nicole Licavoli, Marquette High School, 2020 Recipient
  • Molly Frei, Visitation Academy High School, 2019 Recipient
  • Lillian Orskog, Kirksville High School, 2019 Recipient
  • Brianna Dale, St. Dominic High School, 2018 Recipient
  • Sarah Eisenman, Ladue Horton Watkins High School, 2018 Recipient
  • Sarah Ayers, Parkway West High School; 2017 Recipient
  • Allison Licavoli, Marquette High School; 2017 Recipient
  • Myra Dotzel, Parkway Central High School; 2016 Recipient
  • Jessica Thoelke, Ladue Horton Watkins High School; 2016 Recipient
  • Amanda Blythe, Ft. Zumwalt West High School; 2015 Recipient
  • Jamielee Buenemann, Washington High School; 2015 Recipient
  • Lauren Gieseking, Parkway West High School; 2014 Recipient
  • Natalie Ried, Lindbergh High School; 2014 Recipient
  • Julia Brose, Eureka High School; 2013 Recipient
  • Melissa LaChance, Central R-3 High School; 2013 Recipient
  • Carolyn Beard, Clayton High School; 2012 Recipient
  • Jazmyn Ferguson, Mary Institute and St. Louis Country Day School; 2012 Recipient

All girls who earned their Gold Award at the 2022 Reflections Ceremony will be considered for the 2023 Dessert First Scholarship. Finalists will be notified in October 2022 that they have been selected by the Dessert First Scholarship Committee for a presentation and interview. (All finalists selected for the presentation round receive a $1,000 scholarship.) The committee will announce final award decisions immediately following the presentation round in November 2022. Girl Scouts can contact Shannon Bodenschatz at with questions regarding the Dessert First Scholarship.

Dessert First corporate sponsors invest in Girl Scouts of Eastern Missouri to develop strong, well-equipped, and service-minded leaders for tomorrow’s workforce.

Girl Scouts develops a pipeline of future leaders in your organization. Girl Scouting works, and your investment in girls will impact the future leadership of your organization, of Missouri, of the United States and of the world.

Interested in a corporate sponsorship?
Contact Erin Vlasaty at

At Dessert First, you are the judge of delicious Girl Scout-inspired treats! Join us from 6:00-7:00pm to sample the creative confections and cast your vote for the 2023 People’s Choice Award.

2022 People’s Choice Award Winner: April Mathews, Peachy Keen Culinary Consulting

Past Participating Restaurants have included:

  • 23 City Blocks Catering
  • Bailey’s Chocolate Bar
  • Brasserie by Niche
  • Butler’s Pantry
  • Chase Park Plaza Royal Sonesta
  • Edibles & Essentials
  • Greenbriar Hills Country Club
  • Kaldi’s Coffee Roasting Co.
  • Juniper
  • Olive + Oak
  • Peachy Keen Culinary Consulting
  • Russell’s
  • Ruth’s Chris Steak House
  • Serendipity Homemade Ice Cream
  • Sidney Street Café
  • Southern
  • St. Louis Science Center
  • Yolklore

Presenting Sponsor

Silver Sponsors

Bronze Sponsors

Wine Sponsor